I have been trying to find an official ruling on this. In our campaign currently the DM says that one of the sneak attack die will do max damage, and I roll for the other one.
Critical hit notes:
"Maximum damage you can roll for your attack" is refreshingly unambiguous. All dice are part of the "damage roll" in 4e, there's no concept of "precision damage." The line on extra damage amplifies the meaning neatly, explicitly noting that you only roll dice for "high crit" and "magic weapon crit."
Ted Buddy, the last thing you need is an extra 1d6 damage on all of your sneak attacks...
Reading the links, the only dice that aren't maxed are dice you gain BECAUSE the hit was a critical hit. You get the sneak attack damage regardless of if the hit was a critical or not, therefore they are in fact maxed when you score a critical.
Dagger: 1d4 (4), Sneak Attack: 2d8 (16) = 20 Damage on a Critical hit, period.
Per the Dungeon Master's Book, p. 118, the damage from the power itself is maximized, while "extra damage," which seems to include Sneak Attack damage, are rolled normally.
Sounds like a house rule to me. The P.H.B. says that a sneak deals extra damage if the attack hits. This damage is based on character level. PHB1 page 117.
The game mechanics of an attack are a chance of hitting using a power or basic attack, and on a hit, a random damage roll. Sneak attack gives you a bonus 2d6 at first level or 2-12 damage possible. Sounds like the D.M. is giving a base 6 + 1d6 for you sneak attack. Makes your rogue a little more lethal.
No where in the rules does it say. Max one die and roll the other.
I had a similar discussion with my players and we came up with the idea that if you roll a natural 20, it doesn't affect the Sneak Attack bonus, just like it doesn't affect the critical hit damage roll. See page 225 PHB1 - Critical section.
|show 2 more comments|
I have to tell you that your players are a special breed. They purposely and consciously nerf themselves.
An attack is anything that begins with an attack roll and ends with a miss or damage.
A critical hit has the following property: Maximum Damage: Rather than roll damage, determine the maximum damage you can roll with your attack.
Note that this does not (any longer) say POWER. It says attack.
Rogue Lvl 21 with 10 Dex and Blood Iron Dagger +5
Basic Attack (1 attack) Crit: 9 + 5d10 damage
BA + Sneak Attack[5d6] (1 Attack) Crit: 39 + 5d10 damage
BA + SA[5d6] + Shadowdancer's Gloves (hidden) (1 attack): 45 + 5d10 damage
BA + SA[5d6] + SGloves(hidden) + Serpentine Bracers(hidden) (1 attack): 53 + 5d10 damage.
Anything that adds damage to the original attack, instead of making a new attack, is maximized as part of the original attack. Bonus damage added specifically due to a crit is the only damage not maximized. As also stated in the definition of crit.
I'm not sure how anyone thinks this is subject to interpretation, or why they'd want to nerf themselves.