I'm finding myself confused by the surprise rules on page 196 of the Players' Guide.
[make rolls] If you win, your target is surprised for one Phase.
Which phase? The first phase of combat? Or is there some way to determine when an ambush takes place within a round of combat?
Example: [...] the guard is surprised for 1 Phase. If Rodriguez saved an Action to take advantage of his surprise, the guard will most likely die a quick death.
Saved an action from when? Held actions disappear after each round of combat, so if it's the first phase of combat there's no way to have a held action. If it's part way through the round, how do you figure out when? Can it occur when the ambusher hasn't had any actions yet? Does it take an action to initiate the ambush?