If a player is "engaged", ie was hit in combat last round, can they still use tactical movement? There is mention in the rules that they cannot retreat, doesn't retreating imply full movement only?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
I'd say no, but the rules are not terribly clear on what constitutes melee.
In fact, neither OM&M pp. 13-14 nor RM&M pp.20-21 define melee for purposes of retreat, and nothing notes an engaged character can't move. It does mention he can't retreat unless he either forfeits his attack (Revised) or Attacks successfully for no damage (Original).
If a character is engaged, I don't let them move other than by the disengage action.
It boils down to what you mean by retreat, melee, and disengage.
I take retreat to be movement that would take one out of melee weapons range. I also tend to run M&M extremely "fast and loose"... and treat melee as a distance of 0... what is, in minis terms, "base-to-base contact."
But I'm gonna ask on the M&M list... http://groups.yahoo.com/group/mazesandminotaurs/
And the Official Answer from Ollivier:
"Disengage" is not so much an "action" as it is an "option". It costs nothing, it just requires you have not been hit in Melee during the battle round.
"Retreat", however, requires to be "disengaged" first and costs you your attack, like any Full movement.
And the only use of Tactical movement is in the first battle round when you charge-into-battle, or later on, when you have just killed your opponent and want to attack someone else who is, for example, 20 feet away and not just next to the previous one.
When you disengage, you only use Full movement.
Battle Round 1
Battle Round 2
Battle Round 3