Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Night Horrors: The Wicked Dead, there is the description of Blood Potency 0 effects. Quoting one of the items on page 11:

Creatures with Blood Potency 0 can spend 1 vitae per turn, and can augment Physical Attributes and heal bashing and lethal damage as true Kindred can.

In there, I see no description of aggravated damage healing. Almost the same text describes the effect of the Blood Potency 0 for a Larva (p103). Again, no mention of aggravated damage.

So I must conclude the Blood Potency 0 creatures are simply unable to heal aggravated damage, but as I saw it clearly written nowhere, I guess I could use some advice.

The question: Blood Potency 0 creatures (Larva, and other "weak/half/whatever vampires") should or shouldn't be able to heal aggravated damage?

And if they can, Is this process harder than for true vampires? (what alternate rules would you then propose?)

share|improve this question
Can I haz retitle? My first thought was "Yeah, what about them?" – Adriano Varoli Piazza Dec 20 '10 at 16:44

I believe this should be fairly simple. If the creature with Blood Potency is alive, then it should be allowed to heal using both natural ways (for humanlike creatures you should use mortal healing times) and Vitae. If the creature is dead, then it should only be allowed to heal using Vitae (so, spending 5 Vitae during 2 days it should be able to heal Aggravated damage).

share|improve this answer

In lieu of a full rules clarification from White Wolf (try their forums), you could always use the rules for mortals and aggravated damage (p 175 World of Darkness rule book: One point is regained in a week).

share|improve this answer
The problem is that vampires/undead are not supposed to heal at all without spending vitae. – paercebal Dec 19 '10 at 22:43
Perhaps you should clarify the question then. Because you suggested that they could be half-vampires (ie partly alive). Failing that I think gruszczy has given a suitable answer. Really, common sense prevails. What ever works for you in your world setting. Remember the golden rule, "change the rules if they don't work for you." – RPG Plotter Dec 22 '10 at 12:07

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.