Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Effect line of the Living Missile power card reads:

While the target is immobilized or slowed by this power, you can use the Living Missile Attack power once per round.

The Requirement line of Living Missile Attack's card says:

The power Living Missile must be active in order to use this power. This power may be used once per round.

This seems to imply that the Living Missile Attack power may be used once per round, indefinitely, until the primary target of Living Missile successfully saves against the Immobilized or Slowed condition.

However, the Living Missile Attack power card is marked as a Daily power.

Which of these frequency of use specifications apply? Is this a valid case of "specific overrides general", where the "once per round" for Living Missile Attack replaces the "once per day" property of Daily powers?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 11 down vote accepted

The Living Missile power may be used once per day.

Living Missile Attack, effectively a secondary attack of Living Missile, may be used until the target saves out of the slowed or immobilized effects of Living Missile.

The frequency of use is clearly spelled out:

Living missile notes:

Hit: The target is immobilized (save ends).

Miss: The target is slowed (save ends).

Effect: While the target is immobilized or slowed by this power, you can use the Living Missile Attack power once per round.

Thus, until the target saves or 5 minutes have passed (duration of an encounter), suggested by the stance definition:

A stance power lasts until the end of the encounter, for 5 minutes, or until you use another stance power.

There are no contradictions here. While the power is a daily, the attached power has its uses very clearly spelled out, and therefore we obey them:

Requirement: The power Living Missile must be active in order to use this power. This power may be used once per round.

share|improve this answer
    
Irrelevant correction - there is no 5 minute limit to (save ends) duration. On the off chance that you can keep someone from saving for 5 minutes, and yet not kill him, you can take as long as you want. (From the Rules Compendium) –  Pat Ludwig Dec 23 '10 at 0:40
    
Really? Neat... I don't suppose that has a corresponding reference on DDI? –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Dec 23 '10 at 0:55
    
@Pat - Page reference from the RC, please? –  Iszi Dec 23 '10 at 19:34
    
@Iszi, sorry D&D stuff is crated in the garage while relatives are here for the holidays. It'll be a week before I can answer. –  Pat Ludwig Dec 23 '10 at 19:50
1  
@Iszi - or perhaps closer to 3 weeks! Rules Compendium pg226-7 covers durations –  Pat Ludwig Jan 13 '11 at 8:01
show 1 more comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.