Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Invoker power "Rain of Blood" (Divine Power) says:

Hit: 2d6 + Wisdom modifier damage, and the target gains vulnerable 5 to all damage until the end of your next turn.

Does the vulnerable 5 happen before or after you roll damage? To make the question more general, when a damage and effect happen on a hit, which happens first?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 17 down vote accepted

As a general rule: follow the order it is worded out. This stands for sentences within a block and for the order of blocks too (sometimes an effect occurs before the attacks, for example).

So, in the Rain of Blood case, the target takes 2d6 + Wis damage, and then it takes vulnerability.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.