Sign up ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If a creature is knocked prone, can it still make opportunity attacks?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 11 down vote accepted


Neither the rules for being prone (page 277), nor the rules for Opportunity Attacks (page 290) prevent prone combatants from making opportunity attacks.

(both page numbers are for the fourth edition PHB.)

share|improve this answer
Don't forget the -2 to the attack roll for being prone. –  Snowbody Jun 24 '11 at 15:28

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.