Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What is the effect if a target (A) is grabbing another target(B), and another person(C) applies 3 squares of Forced Movement?

Is the grab-victim (B) carried along with (A) for the trip?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

up vote 10 down vote accepted

The general rule is that A is moved away without B, and if the movement takes B out of A's melee reach, the grab ends. References can be found in the definition of the grabDDI action at page 290 of the Player's Handbook and after the definition of the grabbed condition on the Essentials Rules Compendium (page 231).

As a minor side note, grapple is a term from previous editions. 4th edition has the much simpler grab condition (I supposed you intended that one in the question).

share|improve this answer
    
Quite correct. Grab for Grapple. I suppose it shows what edition I started with :) –  GWLlosa Jan 3 '11 at 13:32

Both the creature doing the GrabDDI, and the target who is GrabbedDDI can be effected by forced movement (push/pull/slide) as normal.

Forced movement on one combatant does not move another due to a grab by default.

The definition of Grab contains:

If a pull, a push, or a slide moves you or the creature you’re grabbing out of your reach, the grab ends.

Contrast this with the RestrainedDDI condition, which does prevent forced movement.

share|improve this answer

Pushing an grabber away from a target he has grabbed usually breaks the grab. There are a few exceptions, where the grab is not broken and the grabbed target gets brought along for the ride, in some cases of special enemies like the Gelatinous Cube [ddi].

Engulf (acid) At-Will

Requirement: The cube must have no more than two creatures grabbed

Attack: Melee 1 (one or two creatures); +8 vs. Reflex

Hit: The cube grabs the target (escape DC 15) and pulls the target into its space. Until the grab ends, the target takes ongoing 10 acid damage and is dazed. When the cube moves, it pulls with it any creature grabbed by it, and the creature remains grabbed and within the cube’s space. This movement does not provoke an opportunity attack from the grabbed creature.

share|improve this answer
2  
Can you give more of an explanation here? Are you agreeing with Erik & Pat and pointing out the exceptions to the general rule? –  ioanwigmore Jun 11 '12 at 17:18

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.