Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Warden's Thorn Strike has a range of Melee 2, it's keywords are Primal and Weapon. A polearm has Reach letting you attack 2 squares away.

Does a polearm's range stack with Warden's Thorn Strike for a range of 3?

share|improve this question
up vote 11 down vote accepted


They do not stack unfortunately. You need one or the other to state that "Your melee reach increases by 1"

Examples would be:

  • Reaching ActionDDI: Class power from the Verdant Lord Paragon Path
  • Staff ExpertiseDDI: feat increases melee reach for staff melee attacks.
share|improve this answer
The difference here is between Melee 2 and Melee Weapon. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jan 4 '11 at 5:36

The Rules Compendium p100 reads, in the Range entry:

Melee [number]: The power can be used against a target that is within the specified number of squares of the power's origin square.

Melee weapon: The power can be used against a target within the reach of the melee weapon that is used with the power. [snip] If a creature has a reach greater than 1, the creature uses its reach for the power's range, instead of the weapon's reach. If the same creature uses a weapon that has a reach greater than 1, the creature still uses its own reach but adds 1.

So, reach weapons only add to reach when using powers with a range of Melee weapon

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.