Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

A vampire wants to embrace a ghoul (which is, of course, blood-bonded to the vampire).

Once the embrace takes place, what happens?

  • The new childe is still fully blood-bonded to his new sire?
  • The new childe is simply 1/3 blood-bonded to his new sire?
  • Aside the blood sympathy, there is no initial blood bond between the two?
  • Something else?

I'm interested by viewpoints, as well as references (books, pages, etc.)

(I never found those answers in the new WoD rulebooks)

share|improve this question
up vote 10 down vote accepted

Ghouls, page 87, "Embracing Your Ghoul"

Finally, once the ghoul is Embraced, he retains any blood addiction and Vinculums he possessed as a ghoul.

share|improve this answer
It should be noted that the text from Ghouls seems to be overriding the core book, which states that the all-consuming power of the Embrace destroys all blood addictions and blood bonds. My group generally runs with the idea that the most-recently-published book takes precedence, but it's something to consider. – Lord_Gareth May 4 '13 at 16:11

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.