Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A vampire wants to embrace a ghoul (which is, of course, blood-bonded to the vampire).

Once the embrace takes place, what happens?

  • The new childe is still fully blood-bonded to his new sire?
  • The new childe is simply 1/3 blood-bonded to his new sire?
  • Aside the blood sympathy, there is no initial blood bond between the two?
  • Something else?

I'm interested by viewpoints, as well as references (books, pages, etc.)

(I never found those answers in the new WoD rulebooks)

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

On page 64 of The Blood, it's stated that one of the four potential ways to break the vinculum is for one of the two parties involved to die. During the process of the Embrace, the ghoul does die, and is brought back through the power of the sire's vitae and willpower. It follows, then, that the old vinculum breaks at that moment.

In all references to the Vinculum I've found, no exceptions are made for the drink of vitae needed to trigger the Embrace. Thus, a neonate vampire begins with a one-step Bond to his or her sire.

Ghouls, page 87, "Embracing Your Ghoul"

Finally, once the ghoul is Embraced, he retains any blood addiction and Vinculums he possessed as a ghoul.

If I were running the game, I'd rule as I did in the struck text, but the book is explicit.

share|improve this answer
it's 'Vinculum' –  Adriano Varoli Piazza Jan 6 '11 at 16:17
I quote The Blood, p64: "Final Death of either Kindred involved in the Vinculum". But I guess it could be extended to the death of mortals, and your remark about dying in the process of the Embrace is a sound one. –  paercebal Jan 6 '11 at 21:36
Thanks for the definitive answer. –  paercebal Jan 8 '11 at 4:28
It should be noted that the text from Ghouls seems to be overriding the core book, which states that the all-consuming power of the Embrace destroys all blood addictions and blood bonds. My group generally runs with the idea that the most-recently-published book takes precedence, but it's something to consider. –  Lord_Gareth May 4 '13 at 16:11
add comment

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.