Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

For example, the Clerics level 1 power "brand of the sun" says the following:

Hit: 1[W] + Wisdom modifier radiant damage.

What does that mean? Does that mean 1xWeapon Damage + Wisdom modifier? Or does it just mean 1 + Wisdom modifier? Or something else?

share|improve this question
up vote 23 down vote accepted

The first one: 1 weapon damage + wisdom modifier. Heroes of the Fallen Lands page 25 says

A [W] in a damage roll expression is a variable that stands for the damage dice of the weapon used to deal the damage. The number before the [W] indicates the number of times to roll the weapon dice. For example, if a power deals 2[W] + Strength modifier damage, and the attacker uses a dagger (1d4 damage), roll 2 four-sided dice (2d4), then add the attacker's Strength modifier.

Edit 2 You can find this information in page 273 of the Rules Compendium, in the Reading a Weapon Entry subsection.

Edit 3 As Allen says, an attack that did 2d4 normally would be augmented to 2*2d4 = 4d4. You get to multiply the whole dice expression.

share|improve this answer
Corner case that confuses the locals: if you're using a weapon that rolls multiple dice normally (like a Falchion that does 2d4 damage), an attack that does 2W will do 4d4 damage. (Or 2x2d4) – Allen Gould Jun 23 '11 at 16:21
Another odd case that I had forgotten - Beastmaster Rangers have powers that use [B] instead of [W] - those refer to the beast's damage figure. Pretty sure there's no other letters at work beyond that. – Allen Gould Nov 7 '11 at 23:09

1[W] Means you apply the weapon damage from your equipped weapon once. Whereas, 2[W] means you roll it twice, and so on.

This threw me when I was reading the game for the first time because the specification of that syntax is buried somewhere completely unintuitive. Try looking at the start of the equipment section.

share|improve this answer
The other convention on the argument is the use of the letter [B]. It is used to denote a Ranger's beast companion base damage. – Erik Burigo Jan 17 '11 at 16:33
If I have a +3 on a 1d10 weapon, 2[W] would be 2d10 + 3, correct? – user1277 Jan 19 '11 at 18:21
Yes, it's correct, the [W] is a placeholder for the dice roll, not for the whole expression. Check the Rules Compendium page I mentioned, or, for example, Heroes of the Fallen Lands page 25, where it says "A [W] in a damage roll expression is a variable that stands for the damage dice of the weapon used to deal the damage." – Adriano Varoli Piazza Jan 19 '11 at 18:21
Unyielding Avalanche is a stance power and includes the line "Any enemy that starts its turn adjacent to you takes 1[W] damage..." Since this is an effect, and not an attack, would a +3 battleaxe do 1d10 or 1d10+3 damage? – Jason White Oct 3 '11 at 0:03
It's a "damage roll" and therefore it would do 1d10+whatever your total damage modifiers outside of your stat were. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Oct 3 '11 at 4:40

If you get something like 2[W]+strength modifier it means that, for a longsword, 2d8 + strength modifier (and other bonus), for a scythe it would indicate 4d4 (two time 2d4) + strenght modifier. In my case, for a one-handed weapon that can be hold with two hands (a weapon with the versatile property), I add +1 damage each time I throw the dice (with a longsword held with two hands, 16 strength, and an attack doing 2[W] + Str Mod damage, you would roll 2d8+5). But do what you want, it the base of RPG.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.