Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The power reads:

At-Will Augmentable, Charm, Psionic, Psychic, Weapon

Standard Action Melee weapon

Target: One creature

Attack: Charisma vs. Will

Hit: Charisma modifier psychic damage, and the target makes a melee basic attack as a free action against a creature of your choice.

Does "a creature of your choice" include "attack yourself?"

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes,

Choosing Targets (p105 of the Rules Compendium) tells us that a target must meet the following criteria:

  • The target must be valid
  • The target must be within range
  • The target must be within line of effect

Later on, valid targets are defined further, of note:

The simplest target definition is "one creature," which means a single creature of any type.

The target of a melee basic attack is "one creature." Therefore a creature can chose to target itself with a melee basic attack should it so desire.

"a creature of your choice" is not functionally different from "one creature" so Unhinging Strike will work to have the creature target itself.

share|improve this answer
    
...or to have the creature target you, even. –  Iszi Jan 17 '11 at 5:18
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.