Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Quickhit braces:

Property: When using a power, if you hit one creature with both your main weapon and your off-hand weapon, deal an extra 2d6 damage to that creature.

If I'm using twin-strike, when is the damage applied, and is it ever maximized due to crit?

share|improve this question
2  
Good question. I'd say no because the extra damage is not tied to a specific attack but to a combination of two (what if you crit with your main attack and not with the second?) But I am really unsure about it. –  Erik Burigo Jan 18 '11 at 8:19
    
Missed the 1st part of the question. I think the damage is applied as soon as the conditions met, that is: when you have hit twice (independently by which weapon connected last). –  Erik Burigo Jan 18 '11 at 11:51

1 Answer 1

up vote 2 down vote accepted

I think there are two possible readings of this - the one that I would support, as it does not introduce any weird contradictions, and does not feel grossly overpowered:

When is the extra damage applied? Once you have resolved both the main hand weapon attack and the offhand weapon attack.

Is the damage ever maximized due to a crit? No.

And the one that I would not, based on reading an awful lot into the word extra:

When is the extra damage applied? As bonus damage dice to each of the attacks.

Is the damage ever maximized due to a crit? Yes, probably, as they appear to be bonus damage dice.

But then for powers that allow for main and off hand attacks, but have one triggering on a hit from the other, do you apply retroactive damage?

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.