Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Lightning Rush is one of the battlemind's featured powers:

It's augment 2 (as an immediate interrupt) states: Hit: 2[W] + Constitution modifier damage, and you become the target of the triggering attack.

This thread has some inconclusive discussion about the A2 causing retargeting of zones. More commentary here.

Therefore, given the following scenario, what happens?

1) An enemy wizard is in the middle of a nice featureless 8x8 room (the new 10 foot standard). The party is all clustered together by the door.

2) The wizard wins initiative and drops "fireball" on the party, triggering the Battlemind's lightning rush.

3) The battlemind, using her II, rushes forward 4 squares (heh) and successfully hits the wizard.

Who gets hit, with what? Why? (Cite your sources)

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 7 down vote accepted

The battlemind steps in and replaces a single target in the list of those attacked by the Fireball; and (most likely) invalidates that attack against her by shifting out of the area of effect before it happens.

Lighting Rush Immediate Interrupt (from pg 49 of PHB3):
...
Trigger: An enemy within 5 squares of you targets an ally with an attack.

From the Rules Compendium pg 105, under Area Powers:

Origin Square: An area power's origin square is a single square that can be some distance away...
Targets: An area power targets specific individuals within the power's area of effect. For example, the power might target "each creature in the burst."...
Multiple Targets: If an area power has multiple targets and includes attack rolls or damage rolls, the attack rolls are made separately against each target, but a single damage roll is made against all the targets.

So:

  • the Wizard casts Fireball
    • chooses an origination square for the Burst 3 and targets "each creature within burst".
  • the Battlemind, now that the trigger of "targets an ally" condition is met,
    • declares the use of her immediate interrupt Lightning Rush with Augment 2
      • Specifically, she uses the targeting of the cleric as the trigger.
  • the Fireball is put on hold
  • the Battlemind shifts adjacent to the Wizard
    • attacks the Wizard for 2[W] + Con
    • on a hit, the battlemind becomes a target instead of the cleric
  • the Fireball is now resolved
    • the Battlemind is now targeted instead of the cleric
    • Most likely, as the Battlemind shifted, she left the Burst 3 of the Fireball and thereby invalidated the attack against her.
    • Her intercession on behalf of the cleric had no effect on the rest of the party, though, unless she killed the wizard so the Fireball didn't happen.

The Close Blast will follow similar steps. For a Close Burst, though, the chance for the Battlemind to invalidate the attack by moving out of the area of effect is pretty much impossible, as she will be adjacent to the Wizard.

share|improve this answer
    
Now that I've written that, I'll got check out the thread you linked and see if I can figure out if I'm wrong... :) –  yhw42 Jan 22 '11 at 15:33
    
That looks right to me. –  Simon Withers Jan 23 '11 at 2:50
    
Looks like the controversy at the end of the forum post (pg 3) centered around the text become the target of the triggering attack. I didn't change my answer, though. Since it triggers off the targeting of a single ally, it is that targeting that the Battlemind becomes the target of. –  yhw42 Jan 23 '11 at 14:00
    
Just seen this post, and I'm not saying its wrong, but I play a Battlemind in LFR up to level 13 so far. The way it's always been ruled with me is that after the Lightning Rush attack has been resolved the triggering burst/blast is then re-placed by the caster so the Battlemind is in it. The caster also copped an opportunity attack from me if it was ranged/area attack. You can imagine I did take advantage of this from time to time :P –  izak Aug 14 '12 at 2:24
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.