I'm reading about the Mage on the Heroes of the Fallen Lands, and page 200 says
You cannot prepare more than one power of any given level on the same day. For example, a 14th level mage [...] can prepare three encounter attack powers per day. Her spellbook contains multiple encounter attack powers at various levels. She can prepare three powers from any of the levels, as long as none of the prepared powers are of the same level
The starting sentence implies that all powers, e.g. 3 encounter, 3 daily, 3 utility for a 14th level character have to be from different levels. This means, 9 powers all of different levels. The example goes into more detail and implies somehow that I could choose, say, 1 level 14 encounter power, 1 level 14 daily, 1 level 14 utility, or 3 of one level, 3 of another, 3 of a third different level. Which is correct?
EDIT To be clear, I'm speaking about preparing spells for the day, after having taken an extended rest. Let's assume I already have learned any spells I want to prepare.
EDIT 2 I understand now that this is kind of silly. If you couldn't prepare, say, a Daily 1 and an Encounter 1 Power, at level 1 you'd be stuck with just one power, either Daily or Encounter, because they both must be Level 1.
EDIT 3 Recent errata clarifies this. Quoting from http://www.wizards.com/dnd/Article.aspx?x=dnd/updates:
Mage’s Spellbook [page] 200 Second paragraph, first three sentences replaced with “Find your level on the Spells Prepared per Day table. The row corresponding to your level indicates how many encounter attack powers, daily attack powers, and utility powers you are allowed to prepare each day. You cannot prepare more than one encounter attack power, daily attack power, or utility power of any given level on the same day.” This change makes clear that the mage is permitted to prepare both an encounter attack power and a daily attack power at first level.