Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I've played quite a bit of the original version but I'm skeptical about buying an updated copy.

I know there is a change to the way ties are resolved during a Complication, but I don't know the details. How does that work now? What else?

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

Quoting from the Forge:

Edge Dice are in the game but the crazy math part is gone. Now, if you roll a tie in a Complication, whoever had the highest sum adds an Edge Die to their pool and you reroll. For purposes of determining Bonus Coins the Edge Die counts just like a regular die instead of adding its total seperately.

That's the only real rule change, per se.

I did completely rewrite the Complications chapter to tighten down how things actually get done in a complication and make it more in line with how I actually play it. Whether or not that will seem like a rules change depends on how closely your style of running Complications matched mine.

The art is unchanged, so yep the Slytheran Doom Cannon are still on their way to visit some whoop ass on Meadow village.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.