Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Power (Daily): Minor Action. You gain 1 power point until the end of your next turn. You can use this power point only to augment a psionic attack power.

Does that mean if a character has 6 out of 6 power points and they use this daily power, they will then have 7 out of 6 power points until the end of their next turn?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

I believe that in this case yes you would end up having more power points than your max. This is not a "house rule," it is the way that this item works. It does not say regain it says gain. Therefore, no matter how many power points you have, you gain 1 extra one that does not count against your max. You would really have 6/6 and 1 from the weapon not 7/6.

(though I don't think it would be wise to use the Item daily power at the start of a combat, jest so you can show off you seven power points.)

share|improve this answer
I think that is a great interpretation. Is the technical distinction you make between "gain" and "regain" explicated anywhere in core materials that you know of? – chaos Feb 16 '11 at 2:25
I could see using it as part of an alpha-strike setup at the start of combat, actually. If the character is planning on APing next turn, it's a good component of a "I'm going to expend way too many resources" move. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Feb 16 '11 at 8:30
@ chaos: I have not encountered anything that says otherwise, I know that for healing that the terminology is always regain which is does not allow for over the maximum. I could not find the rules on Power Points, but it was more the wording of the item power, It trumps the normal ruling anyway. – Rent_ZHB Feb 18 '11 at 5:51


As per Psion:

Power Points: You start with 2 power points. You gain 2 additional power points at 3rd and 7th level, 1 additional power point at 13th level, and 2 additional power points at 17th, 21st, 23rd, and 27th level. If you gain power points from another source (such as your paragon path), add them to your power point total. You can use your power points to augment any augmentable power you have, regardless of how you gained the power.

This item adds (very briefly) to your power-point total, rather than the pool. Giving you 7 out of 7 power points. Furthermore, as the player can derive no real advantage from this beyond the free power point from the weapon, there are no balance issues to consider.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.