Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

My battlemind and a cleric were engaged in a melee battle with a Deathdog the other day. The cleric was knocked down on a previous turn, so that when her turn began she attempted to stand up. The deathdog, who was marked by the battlemind, responded with it's opportunity action:

Go for the Legs (opportunity , when an adjacent enemy stands up; at-will) * Necrotic

The deathdog makes a pouncing bite attack against the triggering creature; 1d10 + 4

Knocking the cleric down and dealing damage.

Mind Spike
At-Will + Force, Psionic, Psychic
Immediate Reaction Melee 1
Trigger: An adjacent enemy marked by you deals damage to your ally with an attack that doesn't include you as a target
Target: The triggering enemy
Effect: The target takes force and psychic damage equal to the damage that its attack dealt to your ally.

Can my Battlemind then use Mind Spike on the Deathdog?

share|improve this question
Did someone make the argument that you couldn't use the Mind Spike? – Pat Ludwig Feb 16 '11 at 21:47
No, the group played it as fair, but we weren't exactly sure if that was the correct call. I think I was confused by how a creature can't interrupt an interrupt on their own turn. – Mark Rogers Feb 16 '11 at 21:52
up vote 7 down vote accepted


An Immediate action can be used once between your turns. As long as it isn't your turn, your Immediate Action can be used whenever its trigger condition is met.

share|improve this answer
Actually, you can only take one immediate action per round. – J. Strange Feb 17 '11 at 12:08
@JStrange "Once between your turns" is effectively once per round for PCs, as there are a number of rules in place to ensure that they do not have more than one turn in a round. Additionally "once between your turns" is perhaps a more concise and accurate specification than "once per round", per this clause in the "Immediate Action" rule: If you take an immediate action, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn, but you can’t take an immediate action on your own turn. – Iszi Feb 17 '11 at 13:53
I wasn't quibbling about once per round vs. once between turns, just pointing out that you can't use immediate actions whenever their trigger conditions are met as long as it isn't your turn. You get one. – J. Strange Feb 17 '11 at 14:01
@jst - I would direct you to the first sentence of my answer. – Pat Ludwig Feb 17 '11 at 15:22

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.