Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Do Readied Actions or Delayed Turns count against your usage limits for Opportunity Actions or Immediate Actions?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

The trigger for a readied action is an Immediate Action. If you have used your Immediate action prior to the readied trigger then you are out of luck.

Immediate Reaction: A readied action is an immediate reaction. It takes place after your enemy completes the action that triggers it.

DelayDDI is a NO ACTION. You must delay your entire turn. This does not provide you with an extra opportunity or immediate action.

  1. Regular turn
  2. Delay (Opportunity Action(OA) and Immediate Actions do not reset)
  3. Coming back into Initiative, start turn (now OA and Immediate's reset)
share|improve this answer
This seems to make sense, but could you provide supporting rules citations? – Iszi Feb 18 '11 at 13:47

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.