Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

From Pursuit of the Hunter:

Trigger: An enemy within 2 squares of you moves on its turn

Does the triggering enemy have to start its movement within two squares, or can the power be triggered mid-move once the enemy is within range?


  • An enemy begins its turn three or more squares away from a Wilden.
  • The enemy moves, with part of its path coming within two squares of the Wilden before the movement is complete.

Could the Wilden use Pursuit of the Hunter in the above scenario?

share|improve this question
A nice side-effect I just realized is that, despite the flavour text and being named "pursuit", you could use it to shift out of the target's reach. Good use for squishy and/or ranged-heavy characters ^_^ – Erik Burigo Mar 23 '11 at 16:43
@EricBurigo - You're right. We've already got that covered in another discussion. – Iszi Mar 23 '11 at 17:15
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes, movement can be reacted to on a square by square basis.

From the Immediate Action definition DDI:

If a creature triggers your immediate reaction while moving (by coming into range, for example), you take your action before the creature finishes moving but after it has moved at least 1 square

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.