Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I am playing a level 5 great weapon fighter and had a question that hasn't come up yet, but I wanted clarification in case it did.

One of my at-will powers is Cleave. My question is if I am marked and use Cleave on someone other than the marker while the marker is adjacent to me:

  1. Will this trigger the mark if it hits, and I do damage to the marker?
  2. Will this trigger the mark if it misses?

I realize its often better to attack the marker, but I could see a scenario where it would be to my benefit to take the penalty.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Most marks are triggered by the marked creature making an attack that does not include its marker. Cleave damages an enemy adjacent to you if the attack hits, but you do not specifically attack that creature. In fact, the power's target is "one creature." That would definitely trigger a mark. You'd take your -2 penalty to the attack roll with cleave along with any other effects triggered by the mark.

share|improve this answer
That makes sense. Thanks. –  wax eagle Mar 3 '11 at 14:29
@waxeagle Of course, if you attacked the marker and dealt the secondary damage to the unmarked target, you'd be fine. –  AceCalhoon Mar 3 '11 at 14:42
Right. That is my typical instinct in this situation, mostly just wondering how severe the penalty was if I took an alternate strategy...Answer: pretty harsh. –  wax eagle Mar 3 '11 at 14:50

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.