Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When a Slayer uses his Power Strike feature, it says:

The target takes 1[W] extra damage from the triggering attack.

Does that extra damage imply that you add your bonus to strength again to the damage?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted


[W] is the notation used to indicate the damage die used by your current weapon. Unless explicitly noted, this doesn't include any attribute or other bonuses that are usually applied only once to a damage roll.

For example, if your character had STR 16 and was using a +1 longsword, the attack would deal - ignoring any other factors for the sake of the example -2d8+4 damage when using Power Strike instead of 1d8+4.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.