Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I couldn't find references about the action type(s) of the following acts (standard, move, full-round, etc.) nor if they provoke attacks of opportunity.

  • Retrieving an item attached to the character's equipment (such as a pan hanging from a hook on the backpack).
  • Retrieving an item in the main sack of the backpack.

Is this one of the case-by-case things left to the GM's discretion?
How would you model them in their commonest case?

share|improve this question
dont forget the havard's handy haversack - any item you reach for is always at the top so can be retrieved as a free move. and do not provoke an attack of opportunity - my GM banned us from having them as he couldnt attack us and we could get oil and potions too easily (party of 5 all with handy haversacks) – Theresa Forster Mar 10 '11 at 13:09
up vote 3 down vote accepted

In D&D 3.5, it would indeed be a move action in the general case:

In most cases, moving or manipulating an item is a move action.

This includes retrieving or putting away a stored item, picking up an item, moving a heavy object, and opening a door. Examples of this kind of action, along with whether they incur an attack of opportunity, are given in Table: Move Actions.

Checking the Pathfinder SRD at shows that retrieving an item is still a move action in Pathfinder:

For the frying pan, you might rule that it's easy enough to grab on to that it behaves like a Handy Haversack, or drawing a weapon. In that case, it would still be a move action but would not provoke attacks of opportunity:

When the wearer reaches into [a Handy Haversack] for a specific item, that item is always on top. Thus, no digging around and fumbling is ever necessary to find what a haversack contains. Retrieving any specific item from a haversack is a move action, but it does not provoke the attacks of opportunity that retrieving a stored item usually does.

share|improve this answer
I can't quote chapter and verse right now, but getting something out of your HHH takes a full round. – Ron Mar 11 '11 at 12:59
@Ron You're thinking of a bag of holding. The last paragraph of my post actually is quoted chapter and verse :) – AceCalhoon Mar 11 '11 at 14:11
@AceCalhoon Bag of Holding only takes a full round if it contains more than a standard backpack (volume-wise) – David Wilkins Nov 15 '14 at 12:12

Generally, it's a move action that provokes attacks of opportunity (as in DM1). You can get around this with (for example) a Handy Haversack that makes it a Move action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

Dropping a held item is a free action.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.