Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was just wondering, I have a cleric and he has a Greater Metamagic Rod: Maximize, I was thinking of picking up a Greater Empower Rod as well, would they two rods stack, or can I only use one?

I don't see why I couldn't Maximize and then Empower a spell, since it doesn't take any spell slots from me, and bringing down a Rain of Fire that is maximized and empowered (153 HP, oh yeah, go go super cleric) onto my unsuspecting foes, just rocks my world.

share|improve this question

No, you can't simultaneously use two metamagic rod on the same spell: see Pathfinder Reference Document.

Metamagic Rods
Metamagic rods hold the essence of a metamagic feat, allowing the user to apply metamagic effects to spells (but not spell-like abilities) as they are cast. This does not change the spell slot of the altered spell. All the rods described here are use-activated (but casting spells in a threatened area still draws an attack of opportunity). A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell, but it is permissible to combine a rod with metamagic feats possessed by the rod's wielder. In this case, only the feats possessed by the wielder adjust the spell slot of the spell being cast.

Emphasis mine.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.