Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I was just wondering, I have a cleric and he has a Greater Metamagic Rod: Maximize, I was thinking of picking up a Greater Empower Rod as well, would they two rods stack, or can I only use one?

I don't see why I couldn't Maximize and then Empower a spell, since it doesn't take any spell slots from me, and bringing down a Rain of Fire that is maximized and empowered (153 HP, oh yeah, go go super cleric) onto my unsuspecting foes, just rocks my world.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

No, you can't simultaneously use two metamagic rod on the same spell: see Pathfinder Reference Document.

Metamagic Rods
Metamagic rods hold the essence of a metamagic feat, allowing the user to apply metamagic effects to spells (but not spell-like abilities) as they are cast. This does not change the spell slot of the altered spell. All the rods described here are use-activated (but casting spells in a threatened area still draws an attack of opportunity). A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell, but it is permissible to combine a rod with metamagic feats possessed by the rod's wielder. In this case, only the feats possessed by the wielder adjust the spell slot of the spell being cast.
[...]

Emphasis mine.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.