Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

On page 331 of the Pathfinder Advanced Players Guide, there is the lore seeker trait that has the following:

If you cast arcane spells, pick three spells on your spell list. You are particularly adept at casting these spells, so they function at +1 caster level when you cast them, and tier save DCs (if any)gain a +1 bonus.

Does this mean that the player must already be able to cast the spell (limiting to 0 and 1st level spells) or can the three spells be chosen at a later date (or even chosen then, to be learned later)?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Neither! The trait says pick three spells on your spell list, not in your spell book. A character's spell list includes spells they can't cast yet - "fireball" is on a first level wizard's spell list. So you can pick spells you can't cast yet, but you have to make the selection when you take the trait.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.