Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In a recent battle my rogue was in, I knocked out a wizard with one of my favorite powers.. uh.. Knockout. The text says:

Hit:...and the target is knocked unconscious (save ends). If the unconscious target takes any damage, it is no longer unconscious.

Deciding I didn't like sleeping Wizards I then unleashed my other favorite Circling Predator:

Hit: 1[W] + Dexterity modifier damage.
Effect: You can shift 1 square and must end adjacent to the target. Then make a secondary attack against it.
Secondary Attack: Dexterity vs AC
Hit: 1[W] + Dexterity modifier damage, and you gain combat advantage against the target until the end of your next turn.

The group all agreed that I would get a Coup De Grace on the first hit, for sure. What we weren't sure about is whether the second attack of the Circling Predator power allows for a second Coup De Grace. My gut instinct is no, but I was curious what the rules say about it.

Can you perform two Coup De Grace's against an unconscious opponent who wakes after taking damage, if it's with a single power?

share|improve this question
up vote 16 down vote accepted

I would think the answer is no, unless once awake the target remains in a status that's susceptible to CdG - such as tied up.

share|improve this answer
+1. Has the target taken damage? Yes? Then they are no longer unconscious :) – AceCalhoon Apr 13 '11 at 2:33

I would say no because if coup de grace succeeds, the creature is dead.

share|improve this answer
Hi Baja... Could you expand on this answer a bit? Lots of legal things can leave a creature dead (like succeeding on a Coup de Grace with the first hit of Circling Predator), so that doesn't rule it out on its own. – AceCalhoon May 1 '12 at 18:25
This is incorrect per the 4e rules. You have to meet a certain damage threshold to actually kill an enemy with a coup de grace in 4e (enemy's bloodied value). – wax eagle May 1 '12 at 19:47

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.