Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Kind of a crazy question, but I was wondering if there were any written rules on the obligation of a character to advance in level?

The reason I'm asking is this: since this summer, I have created and played seven different characters with seven different classes. Five of them have reached tier two and only two are left for tier one (Adventurers League) adventures. Both are level four. However, I would like to be able to complete all tier one AL adventures without having to create even more characters.

So, the question is, do the RAW for 5e (and/or Adventurers League) stipulate that all characters are obligated to advance to tier two based on experience collected?

share|improve this question
up vote 20 down vote accepted

The Adventurer's League FAQ states that characters with sufficient experience must advance at the next opportunity.

When do characters advance in level? [...]

Characters with sufficient experience must advance at the next opportunity: the end of an episode of a multi-part adventure such as D&D Encounters or a published adventure, after a D&D Expedition, or after a long rest. The language indicating that a character can advance after a session is incorrect and will be corrected in future editions of the Player's Guide.

(Emphasis and excerpting added to highlight relevant bits.)

share|improve this answer
    
@nitsua60 I guess I'll go ahead and add the last part of that FAQ. – Miniman Jan 4 at 1:47
    
@nitsua60 I'd try their Twitter account. (Well I wouldn't, because I don't use Twitter, but you get what I mean.) – Miniman Jan 4 at 1:53
4  
Part of this is to avoid sandbagging. If a player sandbags enough XP they could conceivably skip levels which ruins continuity. – Escoce Jan 4 at 14:52

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.