Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

As a corollary to "Does reactivating Hex have any spell Components?," is the player allowed to choose a different ability when cursing a new creature as a bonus action? RAW, it reads as a no, but a RAI argument could support a yes.

The warlock isn't recasting Hex after the initial contact dies; instead, he maintains concentration on the spell and shifts the focus of the spell to a new target via a bonus action on a subsequent turn. The spell doesn't say it must be shifted on the subsequent turn following the death of the target. Rather, it may be moved on a subsequent turn. Relevant text of Hex follows:

Also, choose one ability when you cast the spell. [...] If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature. (PHB p.251, emphasis mine)

share|improve this question
up vote 10 down vote accepted

NO

You have answered your own question. I understand what you say by RAI could possibly support a "YES", but the RAW clearly does not. You choose how you want the hex to work when you cast it.

Also, Choose one ability when you cast the spell.

The bonus action to move it to a new creature simply moves the hex and doesn't allow or state that you can alter the terms of your Hex.

share|improve this answer
1  
Short any 5e errata, I suspect this is the answer. Posted the new question with the intention of answering, rather than including it as a tangent to the answer on the linked question. – Drunk Cynic Jan 4 at 20:53

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.