Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I just want to make sure I have ALL of this correct, lets pretend im a druid.....level 3 for instance.

Gives me 2 cantrips, 4 level 1 spell slots and 2 level 2 spell slots.

So I can prepare wisdom mod (lets say +3) + level per "instance" (before doing a long rest). (So I can prepare 6 spells)

I can choose any 6 spells out of the level 1 and 2 list (since I only have level 1 and 2 spell slots)

I can cast the same spell as MANY times as I want (like I can cast goodberry (a lvl 1 spell) technically 6 times (4 level 1 spell slots, and 2 level 2 spell slots). The level 2 slots will increase the damage of course.

but I could only cast spike growth (a level 2 spell) 2 times, because I cannot cast it as a level 1 spell.

I could do a long rest and re-prepare 6 more spells and my spell slots would all be refreshed.

Is this correct? (everything above) am I missing something?

share|improve this question
up vote 17 down vote accepted

You have it all basically correct

So I can prepare wisdom mod (lets say +3) + level per "instance" (before doing a long rest). (So I can prepare 6 spells)

Yes, you would have 6 spells prepared each day. However, you get your spell slots back and you get to re-prepare spells after a long rest, not before. You would need to complete the entire long rest before you prepared new spells and got your used spell slots back.

I can choose any 6 spells out of the level 1 and 2 list (since I only have level 1 and 2 spell slots)

Yes, there are no restrictions on which spells you can prepare, so you can prepare all level 1 spells, all level 2 spells (although that isn't a very good idea with only 2 level 2 slots), or any combination of the above.

I can cast the same spell as MANY times as I want (like I can cast goodberry (a lvl 1 spell) technically 6 times (4 level 1 spell slots, and 2 level 2 spell slots). The level 2 slots will increase the damage of course.

Mostly correct. Not every spell increases in potency when cast at a higher level. In fact, the Goodberry spell you mentioned does not get any better when cast using a level 2 spell slot. Many do, but some do not. Keep that in mind and make sure to read the spell description before you use it in a higher level. To be clear, you absolutely CAN cast a low level spell in a higher level slot, however if there is no additional benefit for casting the spell in a higher level slot (as per the spell description) then you may not be optimally using your limited spell slot resources.

but I could only cast spike growth (a level 2 spell) 2 times, because I cannot cast it as a level 1 spell.

Exactly.

I could do a long rest and re-prepare 6 more spells and my spell slots would all be refreshed.

Yes, with one minor caveat. Keep in mind that Rules-As-Written, it is not the player that decides to take a long rest, but the DM/GM that decides if a long rest is available. Make sure you know how your DM is running the game, because you cannot initiate a long rest without DM approval, and that may determine how you use your spells and which spells you prepare.

share|improve this answer
    
Even though goodberry doesn't increase at lvl 2 spell slot.....could I technically still cast it as a lvl 2 spell (with no benefit?) – msmith1114 Jan 11 at 16:14
2  
@msmith1114 Yes. I'll update my answer – Percival Jan 11 at 16:51
    
Well, regarding long rests I wouldn't say you need DM approval. Many DMs won't give you the thumbs up, but rather you pick when to take a long rest and any consequences that may come from that (encounters, lost opportunities, etc.) – Escoce Jan 11 at 17:44
    
@Escoce RAW, the game is balanced so that the PCs should face between 6-8 encounters between each long rest. However, facing 6-8 encounters in one day can be impossible depending on the specifics of the campaign. If the PCs fight one encounter and then leave to take an 8 hour nap, to preserve balance the DM should not give them all of their stuff back. This is a factor in the extreme power levels of casters in most 5e campaigns because without 6-8 encounters to drain their spells, casters become nearly unstoppable. DMs restricting long rests helps prevent this. – Percival Jan 11 at 20:27
    
I think the way I described it does lend balance. Random encounters, bad guys getting away or farther ahead making more work for the PCs. Picking where you long and short rest are important. Sleep every 8 hours in a day and nothing gets done. – Escoce Jan 11 at 20:30

This is correct, spell slots are regenerated at the end of a long rest and you can prepare new spells at the end of a long rest as well.

share|improve this answer
    
Am I correct on the other parts? as far as preparation/spell slots go? – msmith1114 Jan 11 at 15:05
1  
Yes everything is correct – Yotus Jan 11 at 15:15

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.