Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

From D&D Player's Basic Rules v0.3, p79:

Longer Casting Times
Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so (see “Concentration” below). If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don’t expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over.

Does casting a spell with a longer casting time, force the caster to end an active Concentration duration spell?

share|improve this question
up vote 21 down vote accepted

Yes.

You cannot concentrate on two spells at once, thus casting the second spell, ends the first. Because casting a spell that requires concentration ends the first, and the spell requires concentration for the duration of the casting effort, it's a spell that requires concentration.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.