Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If a rogue with flying ends their turn 5 ft above someone, does that mean the target cannot move without provoking an attack of opportunity (and thus, a potential Sneak Attack)?

The two parties are already engaged in combat, so all pursuant rules apply. Also, I realize they can spend their action to Disengage, but the question still holds.

share|improve this question
    
Were they already engaged in combat or not? – KorvinStarmast Jan 17 at 22:02
    
@KorvinStarmast Yes. Specifically, I imagine hitting someone on a turn and then flying directly above an archer or wizard. At that point, does it mean they either attack with disadvantage or have to risk an AoO? – Sawyer Jan 17 at 22:10
    
1  
Is your question whether they can move out of your range, or whether moving 5 feet would be out of their range? Because they can move their full movement as long as they don't leave your range and still not suffer an AoO – Kyle W Jan 18 at 19:05

Yes

I'm not sure why there is any doubt about this:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.

If the putative rogue has a reach of 5 feet or more, a reaction available and the target is visible then if the target leave's the rogue's reach using their own movement then they rogue can launch an Attack of Opportunity.

share|improve this answer
    
The only doubt was due to the not knowing if flight affected the results in any way. Thank you. – Sawyer Jan 17 at 23:06
1  
What is it in the rules on flying that led you to this doubt? – Dale M Jan 18 at 0:51

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.