Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This is a follow-up to Can I Ready an action to Disengage?

It looks to me that the 5E RAW does not have a simple way to declare a behaviour like this:

If anything nasty comes towards me, I run in the opposite direction!

That is due to how the Dash action is worded as an increase in movement allocation for your turn, and not as an additional segment of movement in its own right:

When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60 feet on your turn if you dash.

So, importantly, Dash does not make you move, instead it adds to your "movement allowance" for the turn.

In addition the movement rules say nothing about movement except during your own turn (emphasis mine):

On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn, following the rules here.

There are no rules about having or using movement on other turns than your own. Is this an oversight?

share|improve this question
up vote 21 down vote accepted

Yes you can.

The Ready action is what you're looking for. It's explained on p.192 of the player's handbook.

First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction.

For you this would be, "If anything nasty comes towards me"

Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it.

So your response would be, "I run in the opposite direction!"

So you use your action Ready to run and then, when a monster approaches you, you may use your reaction to move away. Generally you won't also be able to also Dash since that would require another action.

share|improve this answer
    
@Ceriba: I will add the RAW for movement, to help explain why I think at the very least there is a gap in the rules. Most importantly, Dash does not allow you to move, instead it increases your move distance allowance. There is nothing in the movement rules saying that you can move except on your own turn . . . – Neil Slater Feb 3 at 18:20
    
@Neil Slater You're right that dash doesn't allow you to move, so you don't ready a Dash. The, "Ready", action explicitly states that it allows you to trigger another action OR move up to your speed. In this case you use the move up to your speed part. – Ceribia Feb 3 at 18:21
2  
I've added emphasis in an edit. Feel free to revert. – Tim C Feb 3 at 18:22
    
Aha, I missed that, so busy looking at the rules for Dash and Ready and it was there in front of me!! – Neil Slater Feb 3 at 18:24
3  
@Airatome You may wish to ask this as a separate question. The simple answer is that you could move a total of twice your speed by moving on your turn and then using Ready to move on your reaction. Considering it's the same amount of movement as Dashing while using up your action and reaction it's not a concern. – Ceribia Feb 4 at 3:33

You can't use Dash. But you can move your speed on your turn, and then move your speed again as part of the readied action. Here's the text:

Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it (Players Basic p72).

So, if you move your speed on your turn, and then ready an action, you can use that readied action to move your speed. This is in effect the equivalent of Dash, but it does not use Dash as it's mechanic.

share|improve this answer
    
Yes, but you cannot move on someone else's turn, unless I am missing something. You will be able to take the Dash action, have extra move allocation, but not be able to spend it! – Neil Slater Feb 3 at 18:14
    
@NeilSlater you're using your action to ready the dash action. You should be fine to move. – wax eagle Feb 3 at 18:14
    
Not by RAW evidently . . . although I might rule it that way when DM-ing. Of course I might be missing something in the RAW for movement? – Neil Slater Feb 3 at 18:15
2  
@NeilSlater updated with RAW answer. Dash is not used, but effect is same. – wax eagle Feb 3 at 18:20

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.