Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Are you allowed to use the spell Shrink Item on a living creature?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Nope!

Shrink Item is specifically designed for an object, for which creatures do not qualify. You're wanting either Reduce Person or Reduce Creature.

Edit: Or Reduce Animal, as the case might be. http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/lists/spells&tablefilter=reduce

share|improve this answer

The spell specifically mentions a non-living object so no....but you COULD kill them and shrink their body (if you needed to hide a corpse somewhere but with a lack of space).

share|improve this answer
2  
I like your line of thinking. –  Jonathan Drain May 18 '12 at 2:21
    
Once a friend of mine tried to pull off some wild trick involving persisting Shrink Item on his corpse while using a magic jar or asking someone to resurrect him. –  Zachiel Oct 10 '12 at 20:50

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.