Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Are you allowed to use the spell Shrink Item on a living creature?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted


Shrink Item is specifically designed for an object, for which creatures do not qualify. You're wanting either Reduce Person or Reduce Creature.

Edit: Or Reduce Animal, as the case might be.

share|improve this answer

The spell specifically mentions a non-living object so no....but you COULD kill them and shrink their body (if you needed to hide a corpse somewhere but with a lack of space).

share|improve this answer
I like your line of thinking. – Joe Dovahkiin May 18 '12 at 2:21
Once a friend of mine tried to pull off some wild trick involving persisting Shrink Item on his corpse while using a magic jar or asking someone to resurrect him. – Zachiel Oct 10 '12 at 20:50

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.