Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This question has to do specifically with the flumph from the Monster Manual. Its Tendrils attack applies a damaging effect that remains until it is saved against. My question is can the effect be applied multiple times or is it restricted to the simple 1d4 acid damage? If it can be applied multiple times, are the saving throws applied individually like most effects or does one successful save remove them all?

share|improve this question
up vote 11 down vote accepted

This has been addressed by the DMG Errata:

Combining Game Effects. when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. [...] Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items

share|improve this answer
1  
Thank you, that answers it perfectly. – Sawyer Feb 14 at 10:46
    
Not exactly perfectly: is the outcome to roll 1d4 twice and take the largest as the most potent or to say they are equally potent and roll 1d4 once? – Dale M Feb 14 at 20:15
    
@DaleM Equally potent, roll once. Otherwise, you'd always roll all effects and then take the highest roll - it's possible you'd roll higher on a d4 than you did on a d20. – Adeptus Feb 15 at 1:19

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.