Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Counterspell section of SRD states: "If the target is within range, both spells automatically negate each other with no other results."

Antimagic field description of SRD states: "Dispel magic does not remove the field, though Mage's Disjunction might."

I made this question because I'm unsure that a Dispel Magic could negate Antimagic field thanks to a Counterspell. If both spell come into existence and then negate each other, can a Dispel magic negate a no magic area? Or perhaps the spells negate each other before they even come into existence?

I think it's a problem of timing. Spells come into existance before they counter or not?

share|improve this question
up vote 28 down vote accepted

Once it has come into effect, an antimagic field can't be dispelled using dispel magic, per its own rules. Those rules don't apply to counterspelling though, as counterspells aren't targetting an existing field, they're preventing the spell from ever coming into effect.

So, when used as a counterspell, dispel magic can counter antimagic field. The field doesn't come into existence (if the countering is successful), so its removal rules aren't relevant — the field spell itself is not ever complete.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.