Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Could a wizard use the magic mouth ritual on an item, telling it to repeat the Verbal Component of a specific spell when the wizard touches said item, thus allowing a wizard to cast a Verbal spell without speaking? I realise that this would only ever be situationally useful, but I'm just curious to see if I am interpreting the rules on both the Magic Mouth ritual and verbal components correctly.

share|improve this question
5  
Historical note: In earlier editions, the Magic Mouth spell description specifically included a clause saying it couldn't be used to provide the verbal component of spells or activate magic items with command words. – GMJoe Feb 16 at 23:14
    
Who says the verbal component of the spell is only words? Just because YOU can pronounce it, doesn't mean the magic mouth has the precision to reproduce it. If magic was that easy, then wizards wouldn't need years of training to master their spells – Benubird Apr 12 at 9:18
up vote 17 down vote accepted

No.

PHB, pg 203

If you can't provide one or more of a spell's components, you are unable to cast the spell.

When you cast Magic Mouth you are embedding a message in a usually mundane object to be spoken at another time. It is physically the object that speaks the words. Since you are not providing the spell's components, you are unable to cast the spell.

share|improve this answer
    
As a clarification, the Verbal component rules are not satisfied that the "magical mouth appears on the object and recites the message in your voice and at the same volume you spoke", as being an excuse that it actually IS your voice giving the verbal command? – Patrick vD Feb 16 at 23:15
    
Are you speaking the words? If yes, they satisfy the requirement. If no, they do not. In the case of the spell, though it may be in your voice at your volume, it is specifically the object that speaks the words. As an aside, past editions of D&D have explicitly ruled out using Magic Mouth to fulfill verbal spell components so this is in line with established expectations of what the spell is capable of doing. – LegendaryDude Feb 16 at 23:16
    
In addition to that, it's probably the same thing with Mage Hand and Mage Hand Ledermain: the spell per se is too rough to execute finesse movements (such as pickpocketing or lockpicking), and the verbal component is a very precise combination of hums and pitches. – Diego Martinoia Feb 17 at 13:05

No

The object Magic Mouth was cast on speaks the words. To cast a spell with a verbal component you need to speak the words.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.