Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In the DMG there is the optional rule on pg.266-267 for healing surges. Part of the text says

As an action, a character can use a healing surge and spend up to half his or her Hit Dice.

So what would you do as a DM for level 1 characters - because they only have 1 hit dice?

Seems to me this would be more needed at level 1 than any other level - but with the round down rules 1/2 == 0.

share|improve this question
up vote 10 down vote accepted

They can't, but it's probably a mistake

You're correct that a level 1 character has 1 hit die and since Healing Surge lets them use half, rounded down, it doesn't do anything for them.

That said, there was an identical issue with recovering hit dice that was corrected once it was pointed out. I expect that the intent is for there to be a minimum of 1 hit die for healing surge as well.

share|improve this answer
    
In 3.5 many effects have a minimum of 1. Rolling d6-1 is always 1 or more, even if you roll the 1. I do not know if 5e uses the same rule. – Me_Maikey Feb 21 at 12:41
    
@Me_Maikey For damage, at least, there is no minimum in 5e. So sayth Jeremy Crawford twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/609026410703822848 – Ceribia Feb 21 at 16:06
    
I agree, I feel the intent was that every level can healing surge, so while the RAW is not to allow it I am going to accept that the intent was indeed for all to have the chance – Adrian Feb 21 at 20:40
    
Oddly enough, this has not been addressed in the DMG errata media.wizards.com/2015/downloads/dnd/DMG_Errata.pdf – Sent_ Feb 22 at 9:29

A first level character has 1/2=0 hit dice to spend and cannot benefit from Healing Surge.

share|improve this answer
    
I would add the quote from phb reference rounding down to further reinforce this dale. – Lino Frank Ciaralli Feb 21 at 14:37

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.