Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

During our game, the fighter PC rolled a critical hit. After he made the critical hit, he wanted to use a superiority die to trip the enemy. Based on the below rules, is the superiority die also doubled? I'm assuming yes based on the last statement in the Critical Hits section, but I wanted to confirm.

Trip Attack. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to attempt to knock the target down. You add the superiority die to the attack’s damage roll, and if the target is Large or smaller, it must make a Strength saving throw. On a failed save, you knock the target prone.

Critical Hits When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack’s damage against the target. Roll all of the attack’s damage dice twice and add them together. Then add any relevant modifiers as normal.... If the attack involves other damage dice, such as from the rogue’s Sneak Attack feature, you roll those dice twice as well

share|improve this question
up vote 13 down vote accepted

Yes

"If the attack involves other damage dice" sounds like a pretty solid indicator that "Superiority Dice" would be multiplied, if a maneuver were used that adds the result as damage.

That sounds like a pretty sneaky way to add extra damage to multiply (not that superiority dice are really game-breaking for additional damage) after learning that an attack hit... but I'd allow it, regardless.

share|improve this answer
3  
I agree that in this instance the superiority die would double; I think it worth noting that not always will a superiority die be a damage die, so it's not that crits always double superiority dice. – nitsua60 Feb 21 at 14:54
2  
As an aside; this very same mechanic works with the paladin 'Divine Smite' ability, where he can choose to add extra Radiant damage after he connects with an attack. So if I roll a crit, I can choose to then Smite, and roll crit damage for the smite attack. – Airatome Feb 21 at 15:58
    
@KorvinStarmast - I mean the part where it says "You add the superiority die to the attack’s damage roll" – New_DM_Tryingtobesneaky Feb 21 at 22:00
    
This correctly answers yes, but I really don't think that there's anything sneaky about doing this. It's a major benefit of the feature working as intended. – Derek Stucki Feb 22 at 4:04
    
Sorry, that's a personal use for sneaky, not the standard. I don't mean underhanded, I mean "not applicable to everybody, and awesome" – New_DM_Tryingtobesneaky Feb 23 at 6:25

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.