Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This came up in our last session. My pact of the blade warlock summoned a longsword to fight a grey ooze. Any nonmagical metal or wood that touches an ooze is corroded. According to the PHB, The pact weapon is magical for the purposes of immunities and damage resistance. So it was unclear to my group whether or not my pact weapon would be corroded when touching the ooze.

The DM ruled that the pact weapon isn't actually metal, but some kind of magical force, so we were ok. But I was interested if anyone else has run into this.

share|improve this question
1  
Welcome to RPG.SE. I see that you've already taken the tour. You may find this question of interest/related as well. Also this one about others using that same weapon. – KorvinStarmast Feb 22 at 14:22
2  
From your quotes: "Any nonmagical metal or wood..." and "The pact weapon is magical..." - I don't think it matters if it's metal or not, it's not nonmagical metal. – Adeptus Feb 23 at 0:24
up vote 11 down vote accepted

Your DM's ruling is well within the ability description.

From Pact of the Blade

This weapon counts as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage.

It can be metal, but it could be some other material as the text does not limit/specify the material as metal. Ruling it as a magical force is within the DM's prerogative.

You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it.

(Reference is SRD p. 47/PHB p. 107-108)

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.