Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If Phantasmal Force is Heightened, does the target receive a penalty on both its initial Int Save and the subsequent Investigation check?

share|improve this question
    
I edited your title to match what I think your question is; feel free to edit or revert if I didn't get it right. – Miniman Feb 24 at 22:53
    
Perhaps edit it to accurately reflect that there's only one save. The second "save" as labelled here is actually an ability check that must use the character/creatures action. – Lino Frank Ciaralli Feb 28 at 7:57
up vote 9 down vote accepted

No.

Heightened Spell gives disadvantage on the first saving throw a creature makes to resist the spell's effect. An ability check is not a saving throw and even it it were, subsequent checks would no longer be the first the creatures makes to resist the spell's effects.

share|improve this answer
    
Thank you! I'm probably not going to get that Metamagic. – John Doe Feb 25 at 0:11

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.