Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

What methods there are to use Prayer of Healing (or similar long casts) in combat?

This question follows a comment on "Does casting a 10 minute spell really take 100 rounds of combat?"

share|improve this question
    
I am not going to accept my own answer. Instead, I'll leave that as an open challenge for someone to find another. – Drunk Cynic Feb 26 at 20:35
    
Shame that it's not a 3.5e question - loads of ways to circumvent casting time there! :D – SPavel Feb 26 at 20:37
    
@SPavel which is the better approach; making the question version agnostic or open other version specific questions? Of the later, have those questions already been asked on rpg.se? – Drunk Cynic Feb 26 at 20:43
6  
@DrunkCynic Nonono, don't make it edition-agnostic. That would get closed as (way) too broad. Ask about the game you're actually playing. – SevenSidedDie Feb 26 at 20:46
7  
Yes, that would still be too broad. Most editions of D&D are incompatibly different games, regardless of the use of the word “edition.” – SevenSidedDie Feb 26 at 20:53

There are several ways to do this.

Wish

You can cast any spell of 8th level or lower, ignoring the material requirements or the casting time duration, as one action.

Glyph Of Warding

This also doesn't use up one action, but again on the same lines.

Glyph is a 3rd level spell that has a spell glyph mode. You cast this spell and another spell of the same level, which must be harmful to the one that triggered it. Similar to Contingency, you set a trigger for it, and it happens on the first trigger. The extra restriction is you must cast it over a surface (a wall, floor, etc) or an object that can be closed (a book). If cast on an object, that object cannot be moved more than 10 feet from the point of casting. If moved, the spell is broken without triggering. If the spell requires concentration, it lasts for the full duration without requiring concentration.

For every level cast higher than 3rd, you can also prepare a spell one level higher.

Invalid Answers

  1. Ring of Spell Storing - This does not change the cast time of spells. The details can be found in the accepted answer to this question.
  2. Contingency - You can only make contingent spells with a 1 action cast time
share|improve this answer
    
Contingency will only work on spells with a casting time of one action. Nothing in the description of Ring of Spell Storing allows a user to change the casting time of spells. – Mark Cogan Feb 26 at 22:22
    
@MarkCogan I would say there is room for interpretation. After all, once a spell with a 10 minute cast time has been cast, it will expend a spell slot and the spell will be stored in the ring. I would argue that you perform a "Use item" action rather than a "spellcasting" action when using the ring, and once the spell is cast from the ring, you are designated as the caster (for purposes of concentration, etc). – markovchain Feb 26 at 22:56
    
@MarkCogan I stand corrected, using Ring of Spell Storing is not a Use Object action. I will remove that item from my answer. Source: twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/525302987351007235 – markovchain Feb 27 at 0:30

If the spell is cast at level 5, or less, yes. Among the Magic items listed in the DMG, there is a fanciful ring that can act as a preparatory reservoir for spells, called the Ring of Spell Storing.

In advance of combat, during downtime or prior to a Long Rest, the spell user casts a spell as normal, mostly. The deviation is that the spell is cast into the ring.

A Ring of Spell Storing, as described by the DMG, can hold up to 5 spell levels, be it one level 5 spell or five level 1 spells, in any combination.

share|improve this answer
5  
While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. It's not clear from this that casting a spell from the ring takes any less time than casting it normally. – xrode Feb 26 at 21:11
2  
@xrode I would argue that it is clear. Casting time is not changed. – Mark Cogan Feb 26 at 22:23
    
I acknowledge the above statements; trying to see if I can identify a justification that proves me right. – Drunk Cynic Feb 27 at 3:24
    
The justification is as follows: DMG pg. 192 "The ring stores spells cast into it...." That's the important bit. The spell is cast into the ring to store it. Which means it doesn't matter how long it takes to cast the spell, the end result is the same. A successfully cast spell is stored in the ring and can be released as if the person wielding the ring had cast the spell. Which means when you use your action to "cast a spell using the ring," all you are doing is releasing the spell you have stored within it. – Lino Frank Ciaralli Mar 3 at 5:00
1  
Unfortunately, this is an incorrect answer. See this question: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/76556/… – markovchain Mar 5 at 15:34

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.