Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In GURPS Campaigns (p381) it states that a skill of 15+ means that a roll of 5 counts as a critical, and 16+ means that a 6 counts as a critical. Does this threshold continue to rise?

Ex: Does Shortsword skill 17+ mean that a roll of 7 is a critical?

share|improve this question
Gurps 4th Basic Set - Campaigns p.347 (just for reference) – Yolgie Mar 26 '12 at 8:42
up vote 14 down vote accepted

No. The threshold for critical successes (and by extension, critical hits) is capped at 6. This keeps things from getting ridiculous with very high skills, which are common in some GURPS genres such as Supers and epic fantasy.

share|improve this answer
Some people have house rules providing for extended criticals, but they tend to be things like "Critical on a 7 if effective skill is 20, critical on an 8 at effective skill 25, critical on a 8 at effective skill 30". Having the critical threshold rise at 1:1 with effective skill makes it so cost-effective to have skill in the region of 24 that the game stops being any fun. – John Dallman Jul 23 at 17:10

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.