Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I am GMing my first Pathfinder game and a player (a wizard) wants to make robes that offer Protection from Good and Law and Evil and Chaos (as the spells). That seems a bit OP to me.

How would that work and what's the best way to handle this?

share|improve this question
up vote 13 down vote accepted

There isn't anything limiting all of these spells being on the same person at the same time, so that isn't necessarily a concern. Let's think about what the person actually gets by using an item like this. It would effectively be: (all these bonuses are only against non-neutral neutral (many monsters fit neutral neutral, and definitely golems :D )

  • +2 deflection to AC

  • +2 resistance bonus on saves

  • A second, attempt to save against mental effects at +2 bonus (+4 total)

  • Prevents contact from summoned creatures of non neutral neutral alignment (spell resistance overcomes)

This probably isn't OP, as you can always just throw neutral monsters at it and it does no good at all.

Formula For the Item:

So, the formula for a continuous spell effect is spell level * caster level * 2,000 GP * 2 for 1 min/level spell, and each effect beyond the first has a 1.5 multiplier

  • Protection against evil 1*1*2000*2 = 4,000 GP

  • Protection against good = 1*1*2000*1.5*2 = 6,000 GP

  • Protection against Law = 6,000 GP

  • Protection against Chaos = 6,000 GP

  • Total Cost = 22,000 GP

Honestly, if a player wanted to spend 22k Gold on an item like that, I would be more than willing to oblige them, as there are probably more broken things they could buy for that amount. Just my two cents.

As a point of reference, a cloak of resistance +2 is 4,000 GP, and a ring of protection +2 is 8,000 GP. Are the other effects (plus the fact that they're all on the same item) add up to another 5,000? Probably not. I would say that 22,000 is a minimum price, and just look north of there.

share|improve this answer
4  
+1 for pointing out that this players has made a robe of protection (but not from wolves, bears or rilmani) – GMJoe Mar 7 at 23:36

That custom magic robe of alignment protection wouldn't be particularly powerful

The deflection bonus to AC is easily duplicated, as is the resistance bonus on saving throws, and these bonuses won't stack as they're named bonuses. A second saving throw against mental control is only warranted against neutral creatures' effects, other creatures' mental control prevented completely by the robes. Summoned aligned outsiders that want to make bodily contact with the robe wearer will probably be rare unless the campaign's main baddies focus on summoning or something.

Thus if the campaign's focus is on magical possession or summoned creatures—you're playing a campaign based on The Exorcist or Magic: The Gathering, for instance—then such an item is a big deal and likely unbalanced, so the robe should be disallowed or outrageously priced.

However, in most campaigns paying 20,000 gp to 40,000 gp for a continuous protection from chaos, evil, good, and law is actually too high a price for too little of an effect.

share|improve this answer
    
Looking over the spell, it doesn't say that it completely negates any mind controlling effect from the alignment, just that you get a second save against any mind effect. I don't see alignment mentioned at all in that part of the spell effect. – BaseHobo Mar 7 at 15:42
1  
@BaseHobo The spell protection from evil says, "While under the effects of this spell, the target is immune to any new attempts to possess or exercise mental control over the target. This spell does not expel a controlling life force (such as a ghost or spellcaster using magic jar), but it does prevent them from controlling the target. This second effect only functions against spells and effects created by evil creatures or objects, subject to GM discretion." Emphasis mine. – Hey I Can Chan Mar 7 at 17:19
    
I read that, but now that you put it on its own, I can see what you mean. So given this item under consideration, neutral creatures would be able to use mind effecting spells? – BaseHobo Mar 7 at 21:41
1  
It doesn't actually say that it only blocks mental effects from the particular alignment. Old versions of D&D did, but BaseHobo's quoted version implicitly blocks all attempts at mental control, regardless of the source's alignment. – Perkins Mar 7 at 22:22
    
@Perkins I think you have that flipped. The D&D 3.5 version of protection from evil says, "This second effect works regardless of alignment." The Pathfinder version of protection from evil really does say, "This second effect only functions against spells and effects created by evil creatures or objects, subject to GM discretion." Or are you emphasizing that GM discretion part? – Hey I Can Chan Mar 7 at 23:31

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.