Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Immovable Rod says:

You can use an action to press the button

(DMG, p175.)

An humunculus "is a construct that acts as an extension of its creator".

Can your humunculus push the darned button on your Immovable Rod?

share|improve this question
    
Are you planning to use your homunculus to trigger a deadfall suspended in mid-air? – GMJoe Mar 7 at 23:18
    
I was going to put something about conjured animals or beasts in my answer about the Immovable Rod, I see you got the idea anyway... – Alexis Wilke Mar 8 at 0:05
4  
@Jack Wow, that is much better than my solution of packing a hammock so I can take a rest part-way. – GMJoe Mar 8 at 0:13
4  
@GMJoe - the hammock has a lot of panache. I like it. Bring a snack and a book. – Jack Mar 8 at 0:20
1  
This is the rudest-sounding question title I've ever seen on SO. – AJFaraday Mar 8 at 9:54
up vote 15 down vote accepted

Yes

Immovable Rod

Until you or another creature uses an action to push the button again, the rod doesn’t move, even if it is defying gravity.

The Homunculus has a stat block (S 4/D 15/C 11/I 10/W 10/Ch 7). As a construct, it is a creature. It can interact with things. (Example: with it's bite it makes a melee weapon attack).

There is no minimum strength required to push the button listed for the item. I see no reason to argue that it can't push the button.


As I read the introduction to "Monsters" in the rules, all monsters are creatures. That makes constructs a kind of creature.

(MM p. 6) Constructs are made, not born. {snip} Many creatures native to the outer plane of Mechanus, such as modrons, are constructs shaped from the raw material of the plane by the will of more powerful creatures.

share|improve this answer
    
Ah, good catch on "or another creature". – Jack Mar 7 at 22:45

Here's an image of a possibly typical homunculus:

enter image description here

As you can see, it generally has normal appendages, and is physically capable of interacting with things, and the Immovable Rod has no special requirements about being able to use it (i.e. you don't need a Use Magic Item check to press the button). So, under normal circumstances, your homunculus should definitely be able to activate immovable rods without any difficulty.

share|improve this answer
2  
That picture. That is such a . . . I'm trying to think of a word for it. Attractive, cute, friendly. Definitely none of those. There's also a picture in the MM. The new MM. I actually recognize that pic from the MM from deep in the last century. – Jack Mar 8 at 0:00
1  
Jack, the one in 5e is not that much cuter... less pustulent maybe. – Alexis Wilke Mar 8 at 0:09

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.