Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

To succeed a roll in Call of Cthulhu you have to meet or roll under your skill threshold, but rolls that are between 96-100 are fumbles (critical failures).

What happens when you roll under your skill threshold (of 99), but within the fumble range as well?

share|improve this question
up vote 21 down vote accepted

It is a success (assuming a regular difficulty check).

From the top of Page 90 of the 7th edition core rulebook:

If the dice roll required for success is 50 or over and the dice read 100, a fumble has occurred.
If the dice roll required for success is below 50 and the dice read 96—100, a fumble has occurred.

share|improve this answer
2  
Now I see it! I must have skimmed over it because it was at the very top of the next page. – Dumpcats Mar 11 at 15:32

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.