Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The spell description says ...

Individual arrows or bolts can be transmuted, but affected projectile weapons (such as bows) don't confer the benefit to the projectiles they shoot.

... but doesn't say how many. There must be an upper limit and I'd hope this spell affects more than 1 arrow / bolt per casting.

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

"Individual" means one. Spells that affect more than one say so explicitly. For example, consider Greater Magic Weapon

...

Target: one weapon or 50 projectiles (all of which must be together at the time of casting)

...

This spell functions like magic weapon ... Alternatively, you can affect as many as 50 arrows, bolts, or bullets. The projectiles must be of the same kind, and they have to be together (in the same quiver or other container).

...

Bless Weapon doesn't have such language, so it only works on a single arrow or bolt.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for the info. I wish the language was clear and said "a single arrow or bolt". "Individual arrows" seems to imply more than 1. – KornMuffin Mar 13 at 3:01
1  
@KornMuffin The language is accurate. “Individual arrows” = “Individual (object that is of the arrow type)”. English nouns of the “type” kind look the same as the “plural” kind but are not actually plural. – SevenSidedDie Mar 13 at 4:49
    
@Rawling I'm concerned that this has become a trivia tangent that isn't aimed at helping the post in any way. If you want more information on corner cases of English grammar, English Language & Usage can probably help. Ask about “categorical nouns”. Though check here first to avoid asking a duplicate. – SevenSidedDie Mar 13 at 20:41
    
Not sure if this should be a new question (I'm happy to create) but what is the value of casting this spell on a projectile weapon (other that affecting a single arrow/bolt)? – KornMuffin Mar 14 at 3:08
    
@KornMuffin That sounds like a new question, yeah. – SevenSidedDie Mar 14 at 16:10

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.