Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Pathfinder system has improved rules for handling grappling but I ran into a situation where a character was grappled and another character wanted to hit the grappling monster with a melee attack. It seems like there should be a penalty or chance to hit the other party in the grapple when attacking.

The rules clearly define what the grappling/grappled party can/cannot do (and any penalties/bonuses they get) but I can't find anything that talks about how it would affect incoming attacks (be they ranged/melee) into the grapple.

Is there an official Pathfinder ruling and if so what is it?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Well, I think the "Grappled" condition covers it. The grappling and grappled creatures are both at a -4 to Dex, and are considered to be engaged in melee.

So that would put you at a -4 to ranged attacks (unless you have Precise Shot), and would make it easier to hit the creature with a melee attack (because of the -4 to Dex).

Otherwise I don't believe there is any change.

Edit: Also, if the monster has Grab abilities, they usually have a way to avoid getting the grappled condition themselves. (Usually at a -20 to their check).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.